Page 6 - HOT NEWS March 2017
P. 6

Service, conduct and bravery rewarded
Dignitaries gathered at Aintree Racecourse to celebrate the long service, good conduct and bravery of MFRS staff and community-minded members of the public.
Her Majesty’s Lord Lieutenant of Merseyside, Dame Lorna Muirhead, was joined by the High Sherriff of Merseyside,
Jim Davies, and representatives from the Liverpool Shipwreck and Humane Society to congratulate 39 recipients of medals and commendations.
Chief Fire Officer Dan Stephens welcomed friends and family of Firefighters, Advocates, Station Managers, Watch Managers, MFRS support staff and members of the community who had gathered to watch their loved ones receive their honours.
MFRS Chaplain, Reverend Bill Sanders, blessed proceedings ahead of a presentation about the history of Merseyside Fire & Rescue Service by Head of Strategic Support, Simon Ryan, who acted as Master of Ceremonies for the event.
Firefighters receiving recognition for over 20 years of loyal service and good character included Lee Brett, Paul Dignum, Christopher Gallagher, Simon Gilbertson, Andrew Jackson, Bernard Jackson, Alasdair Jones, Michael Kelly, Steven Law, Nicholas Merriman, Tony Richardson, Graeme Winstanley and Iain Woodside.
Area Manager Brian Welsh was also commended for long service and good conduct along with Station Managers Ian Nelson and Gerard Sheridan and Watch Managers Carl Cleaver, Michael Cotgrave, Michael Currin, Alun Evans, Thomas Grierson, Ian Mullen, Stephen O’Neill, Lee Taylor and David Topping.
Time and Resource Management Team Officer, Susan Potter, received the Long Service Pin Award. All were presented with their medals and awards by CFO Dan Stephens.
The Liverpool Shipwreck and Humane Society’s Bronze Medal and Parchment was awarded to Watch Manager Ian Girven, Firefighter John Dickinson and Mr Tom Marum by Dame Lorna Muirhead in recognition of bravery shown when they rescued a man in distress from the River Mersey.
Firefighters George Williams and Alex Rhodes received the Chief Fire Officer’s Watch Commendation, also presented by Dame Lorna Muirhead, and Certificates of Meritorious Action were given to Advocate David Welsh, former Advocate Maria Booth, Station Manager Dean Bolton and Watch Managers Tony Harland and Ian Mullen.
Former Incident Investigation Officer Mike Kirby and members of the public Amy Smith and Paula Kerr also received Certificates of Meritorious Action.
Merseyside Fire & Rescue Service Chair, Councillor Dave Hanratty, said: “On behalf of the Fire Authority and public of Merseyside I congratulate all of the award winners.
“Their dedication to keeping our community safe, whether in an operational role or support role, is worthy of celebration.”
High Sheriff of Merseyside Jim Davies and CFO Dan Stephens present Time and Resource Management Team Officer Susan Potter with her Long Service Pin Award.
Watch Manager Ian Mullen, Watch Manager Tony Harland, Station Manager Dean Bolton and former Incident Investigator Mike Kirby proudly show off their Certificates of Meritorious Action.
Watch Manager Dave Topping, Firefighter Graeme Winstanley, Firefighter Alasdair Jones and Firefighter Iain Woodside at the ceremony.
Firefighter Alex Rhodes, Watch Manager Steve Pratley and Firefighter George Williams with the Chief Fire Officer’s Watch Commendation.
A vintage fire engine took pride of place at the event.

   4   5   6   7   8